Author Topic: AQB Mosaics  (Read 2316 times)

Online AQB24712

• Not a Euphemism.
  • Global Moderator
  • Frequent Poster
  • Did you just call me..."Bacon girl"?
AQB Mosaics
« on: November 02, 2011, 08:47:25 PM »
Yes!  I've been blathering on for a couple of weeks about getting ready for a solo exhibition of mosaics, and promising photos.  Here we go, yo.  I've been doing mosaic stuffs for about five years now; I do eight to 12 craft shows a year, and this is my second solo show at a wonderful local coffeehouse/used bookstore that regularly features area artists.  (November is a big shopping month, so I'm hoping to score.)  The exhibition is called Tiled Upcycled 2011.

For some background, some time ago I had occasion to write an artist's statement.  I tried to avoid the wifty-woo-woo artspeak as much as possible.

I create mosaic giftware and home accessories: clocks, lamps, photo frames, boxes, bookends, etc.

I’ve always appreciated designer William Morris’s advice to “have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful.”  I try to meet both of Mr. Morris’s criteria with my work:  everything I make is at least nominally functional; nothing is purely decorative.

I’ve also always enjoyed shopping at secondhand stores and flea markets for interesting pieces that can be refurbished and given a second life.  My mosaic craft gives me a wonderful excuse to “go thrifting” in search of my next project.

In addition to being reimagined, every object is repainted, refinished, repaired, or rebuilt as needed.  I use stained glass; vitreous glass tile; natural materials such as shells, wood, and semi-precious stones; ceramic tiles; and found objects.  I am exploring pique assiette and custom-made polymer clay tile. 

Sourcing my “raw materials” from the secondary market means that my product line is unpredictable and that my pieces are typically unique.  If you see something you like, buy it!  I may never have another one.